Announcing The 2014 Callahan Award

by | February 17, 2014, 2:57pm 0

2014 College Tour

The 2014 College Tour is presented by Spin Ultimate

Skyd Magazine and founder Charles Kerr are pleased to announce the 2014 Callahan Award. Founded in 1996, the award is named for Henry Callahan, an ultimate player, organizer, and advocate who tragically lost his life in 1982 (for more on Henry, listen to our 2012 podcast with his brother, Jay), and recognizes the most valuable players in men’s and women’s college ultimate.

In the eyes of his or her peers, the Callahan winner is the personification of the ideal ultimate player. Like Henry Callahan himself, players who win the award are recognized not just for their on-field accomplishments, but shine off the field as well. They display superior athleticism, outstanding sportsmanship, leadership and dedication to the sport. The Callahan Award is more than just a trophy: the title of “Callahan winner” bears heavy weight in the world of ultimate, and each winning player carries the designation throughout future seasons of college, club, and beyond, becoming an ambassador for on-field play and off-field character.

Callahan winner Claire Chastain. (Photo by Alex Fraser -

2013 Callahan winner Claire Chastain. (Photo by Alex Fraser –

Past Winners

[spreadsheet 0AoHsej_RKFvMdHFwNkJqcFk5MGZHeXRrc2tUWlJFN3c 500 650]

Dylan Freechild won the Callahan last year as a junior - can he do it again? (Alex Fraser -

Dylan Freechild won the Callahan last year as a junior. (Photo by Alex Fraser –


Callahan Timeline

  • February 20 – Nominations open for teams/Regional Coordinators
  • March 14 – Team nomination deadline
  • March 18 – Regional Coordinator nomination deadline
  • May 5 – Final voting opens
  • May 15 – Final voting closes

Comments Policy: At Skyd, we value all legitimate contributions to the discussion of ultimate. However, please ensure your input is respectful. Hateful, slanderous, or disrespectful comments will be deleted. For grammatical, factual, and typographic errors, instead of leaving a comment, please e-mail our editors directly at editors [at]