Starting 7: Club Mixed 2012

by | October 18, 2012, 10:00pm 0

Skyd is proud to present our new award for the 2012 Club Season, Starting 7 Presented by SAVAGE Ultimate. Starting 7 honors the top 7 players in each division for their skill, leadership and overall play up through regionals. Recipients will receive an award jersey provided by SAVAGE Ultimate. Congratulations to the following players who have been named our Starting 7 in the Mixed Division:

  1. An-Chi Tsou (Polar Bears) has captained the Polar Bears for three years and two medals so far. An-Chi was a 2011 Callahan nominee and has developed into a handling force for the Bears.
  2. Raha Mozaffari (AMP) is one of the motors of AMP’s offense – quick from the handler spots or coming back to the disc, she can punish teams with her legs and her pinpoint break throws.
  3. Skyla Sisco (Mental Toss Flycoons) almost made our Dream Team USA Women’s list. Her background in the WNBA makes her a powerful athlete who is virtually unguardable on the field.
  4. Brian Garcia (Blackbird) left Revolver to captain the 2011 Club Champions, Blackbird. Garcia is a strong player on both sides of the disc, with excellent throws and field awareness that help punch in goal after goal for his team.
  5. Jeff Graham (The Ghosts) can be accurately summed up by this video.
  6. Kurt Brorsen (Chad Larson Experience) led the US Open for scores by 6. He’s a critical player for the Chad Larson offense, but also picks up his fair share on D, making him one of the most all-around players in the mixed division.
  7. Austin Lien (Drag’n Thrust) is a true up-and-comer. At 23 he captains Drag’n Thrust, one of the top teams in the division, and consistently impresses with his athletic play.

Feature photo by Daniel Tjioe –

Comments Policy: At Skyd, we value all legitimate contributions to the discussion of ultimate. However, please ensure your input is respectful. Hateful, slanderous, or disrespectful comments will be deleted. For grammatical, factual, and typographic errors, instead of leaving a comment, please e-mail our editors directly at editors [at]